Finn Weaver Role In International Union for Conservation of Nature | IAS Target IAS Target

Finn's Weaver

22 Dec 2021

Category : Environmental Issue

Topic: Finn's Weaver

Why in the news? ​

The accidental discovery of a new breeding colony of Finweaver in UPs Bijnor raises expectations among those concerned about the future of this species. Of the only 1,000 people currently living in the world, 500 are in India.

Finn's Weaver

  • Finn's Weaver, also known as Yellow Weaver, is a type of weaver bird found in the Ganges and Brahmaputra Valleys in India and Nepal.
  • Nests are built on trees and reeds and are woven from thin pieces of leaves and reeds.
  • Finn's weaver is currently listed as an endangered species on the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List of Endangered Species.
  • As per the Bombay Natural History Society (BNHS), it is on the verge of extinction as it seeks to raise the status of its list to "critical."

Why in the news?

  • Vietnam and the Philippines warned at the regional summit that Southeast Asia's uncertainty was increasing as China feared to step up its controversial South China Sea activities during the coronavirus pandemic.
  • Details Hanoi and Manila filed a protest against China in April after Beijing unilaterally declared the creation of new provinces on the islands of problematic waterways that Vietnam and the Philippines also claimed.
  • An online dialogue by the authorities of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) revealed that international organizations and international law are being seriously questioned.
  • China has increased its presence in the exclusive economic zone of other countries, and the applicant has been named COVID 19.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is an intergovernmental organization in a region that includes ten countries in Southeast Asia.
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Brunei
  • Vietnam
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Cambodia

ASEAN Goals:

  • Promotes intergovernmental cooperation and promotes economic, political, security, military, educational and socio-cultural integration of its member states and other Asian countries.
  • Maintain close and informative cooperation with existing international and regional organizations.
  • We promote regional peace and stability by constantly respecting justice and the rule of law and complying with the regulations of the Charter of the United Nations
  • Accelerate financial, economic and monetary development and growth, social progress and cultural development for prosperous and peaceful communities in Southeast Asian countries. As an essential partner of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, ASEAN maintains a global network of alliances and dialogue partners and is seen by many as a central union of cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region.

Important points about the ASEAN:

  • ASEAN's motto is "One vision, One identity, One community".
  • ASEAN is headquartered in Jakarta, Indonesia. August 8th is celebrated as ASEAN Day.
  • ASEAN was founded in 1967 by the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by its founders Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • The ASEAN chair changes annually based on the alphabetical order of the English names of the member countries.
  • ASEAN happens to be the 3rd-largest market in the world, more significant than the EU and North American markets.
  • ASEAN Plus Six Further integration to improve existing connections to Southeast Asia took place through the larger East Asia Summit (EAS), which includes ASEAN plus three, India, Australia and New Zealand.
  • Together with Australia, New Zealand and India, this group has become ASEAN Plus Six and is considered a cornerstone of the Asia-Pacific region's economy, politics, security, socio-cultural architecture and the world economy.
  • This group served as a prerequisite for the planned East Asian Community. It is probably modelled on the European Community (now converted to the European Union).