African Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) | IAS Target IAS Target

African Asian Rural Development Organization

African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) formed in 1962, is an autonomous inter-governmental organization. India, one of the founding members of the AARDO, is the largest contributor in terms of membership contribution. India also provides 70 fully paid training scholarships for Human Resource Development Programme under the Indian Technical & Economic Cooperation Programme (ITEC) to the Organization.
African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) is an important topic for the IAS Exam. Candidates can also download the notes PDF at the end of this article. UPSC and other government aspirants can also refer to the List of Important Organisations and their Headquarters in the linked article
Established in 1962
Headquarters New Delhi, India
Members 33 (17 from Africa + 15 from Asia) and one associate member from Asia

The 1st Afro-Asian Conference on Rural Reconstruction was held in New Delhi in the year 1961 as a 1st step toward the development of AARDO.
Aspirants from UPSC, PSCs, and other competitive exams must also get updated with the latest UPSC Syllabus and related links given below:

Evolution of AARDO

After World War II (during the Cold War period) in the 1950s, most Asian and African countries demanded the comprehensive and all-inclusive development of their regions. Consequently, the two countries, i.e., India and Japan, came forward to consider the issues and ensure complimentary help to each other.

Dr. Punjabrao S. Deshmukh, the then Indian Union Minister of Agriculture, and Dr. Hiroshi Nasu, the then Ambassador of Japan to India, formulated the idea of establishing a platform for the Asian countries to jointly discuss their issues. This expedited to the organization of the first East Asian Rural Reconstruction Conference that was held in Japan's capital Tokyo in August 1955 with the involvement of twelve countries, namely:

  1.  Cambodia, 
  2. RO China, 
  3. India, 
  4. Indonesia, 
  5. Japan, 
  6. Malaysia, 
  7. Nepal, 
  8. Pakistan, 
  9. Philippines, 
  10. Sri Lanka, 
  11. Thailand and 
  12. Vietnam.

The first Afro-Asian dialogue on Rural Reconstruction was held in India's capital city of New Delhi, in the year 1961 as a 1st step toward the development of the African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO). The conference was inaugurated by then Indian President Dr. Rajendra Prasad and was participated by 23 countries of Africa and Asia and five global organizations. The Conference comprised an Executive Committee with Dr. S. Deshmukh as the President.
The second meeting of the African-Asian Conference on Rural Reconstruction was held in Egypt's capital Cairo from 19 to 31 March 1962, where the President of the African-Asian Conference, together with the Constitution from India, Egypt, Libya, Japan, and Malaysia, announced that the constitution of Afro-Asian Rural Development Organization would come into force with effect from 31st March 1962. Hence, the Afro-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) was established initially consisting of five members, and its headquarters was temporarily located in New Delhi. On 5th March 1966, a ceremonial agreement between the Ministry of External Affairs (MoEA) of the Indian Government and the Secretary-General, AARDO, was signed.

Goal of AARDO

  • Developing understanding among members for better appreciation of each other’s problems
  • To collectively explore opportunities for coordination of efforts in promoting welfare and annihilation of thirst, illiteracy, hunger, disease, and poverty amongst rural people.
  • Promoting cooperation among the countries of the African – Asian Region

AARDO and its association with global institutions

  • AARDO also promotes collaboration with various international organizations for the economic and social welfare of the rural community.
  • It enjoys observer status in FAO, IFAD, UNCTAD, UNESCO, ICA, CIRDAP and UNDP.


African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) is a democratic organization with members holding supreme authority within the framework of the Constitution. The basic organs of the Organization include: 

(i) the AARDO Conference; 

(ii) the Executive Committee; 

(iii) the Secretariat, besides the Liaison Committee.