Commonwealth of Independent States | IAS Target IAS Target

Commonwealth of Independent States

It is a regional intergovernmental organization of nine members, plus two founding non-members. It was established following the dissolution of the USSR in 1991. Eight out of the nine CIS member states participate in the CIS FTA.

The CIS encourages cooperation in:

  • Promote cooperation on cross-border crime prevention.
  • Political, economic and military affairs
  • It has powers relating to the coordination of trade, finance, lawmaking, and security.

The CIS has its origins in the Russian Empire. When the USSR began to fall in 1991, which also unofficially ending the cold war rivalry. The founding republics signed the Belavezha Accords, declaring that the Soviet Union would cease to exist and announced CIS in its place.

  • The Baltic states (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania), chose not to participate.
  • Georgia withdrew its membership in 2008.
  • Ukraine ended its participation in the CIS in 2018.

Three organizations under CIS:

  • The Collective Security Treaty Organization
  • The Eurasian Economic Union
    • The Eurasian Customs Union
    • The Eurasian Economic Space
  • The Union State.

While the first and the second are military and economic alliances, the third aims to reach a supranational union of Russia and Belarus with a common government, currency, flag and so on.

Member Countries

Azerbaijan Georgia Moldova Turkmenistan
Armenia Kazakhstan Russia Uzbekistan
Belarus Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan Ukraine

Founding Members

Armenia Kazakhstan Russia
Belarus Kyrgyzstan Uzbekistan

Observer states

Afghanistan Mongolia

In October 2000 the Heads of five countries (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan) signed an Agreement on the creation of Eurasian Economic Community.

  • Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine have the status of the observer under EAEC.
  • In October 2005 Uzbekistan made the statement to join this organization.
  • In September 2003 four countries - Kazakhstan, Belarus, Russia and Ukraine signed an Agreement on Formation of CES (Common Economic Space).

Charter Bodies of the CIS:

  • Council of Foreign Ministers
  • Council of Defense Ministers
  • Economic Court
  • Council of the Heads of States
  • Council of the Heads of Governments