International Energy Agency (IEA) | IAS Target IAS Target

International Energy Agency

The history of the IEA began with the 1973-1974 Middle East War crises and its immediate outcome. While oil-producing countries appeared relatively well organized to utilize their new oil-based economic and political power, many OECD countries found themselves inadequately equipped with the information and organization necessary to meet the corresponding challenges.

The policy and institutional lessons of the crisis led swiftly in November 1974 to the establishment of the IEA. The Agency's mandate has broadened to focus on the "3Es" of effective energy policy:
  • Economic development,
  • Energy security,
  • Environmental protection.

The latter has focused on mitigating climate change. The IEA has a broad role in promoting alternate energy sources (including renewable energy), rational energy policies, and multinational energy technology co-operation.

Secretariat Paris, France
Members The IEA is made up of 30 member countries.
  • World energy outlook
  • South-east Asia energy outlook
  • Energy Technology Perspectives

Founding members in 1974 were:

Austria Belgium Canada Denmark Germany Ireland
Italy Japan Luxembourg The Netherlands Norway (under a special Agreement) Spain
Sweden Switzerland Turkey United Kingdom The United States

Joining in the following years were

Greece New Zealand Australia Portugal Finland
France Hungary Czech Republic Republic of Korea Slovak Republic
Poland Estonia and more recently Mexico
India is the associate member of IEA

Condition for joining IEA

  • Whether the country has Crude oil and/or product reserves equivalent to 90 days of the previous year’s net imports. These reserves could be used to address disruptions to global oil supply
  • A candidate country must be a member country of the OECD. However, membership in the OECD does not automatically result in membership in the IEA.
  • Legislation and organisation to operate the Coordinated Emergency Response Measures (CERM) on a national basis.
  • A demand restraint programme to lower national oil consumption by up to 10%.
  • Legislation and measures to ensure that all oil companies under its jurisdiction report information upon request.
  • Measures in place to ensure the capability of contributing its share of an IEA collective action. An IEA collective action would be initiated in response to a significant global oil supply disruption and would involve IEA Member Countries making additional volumes of crude and/or product available to the global market (either through increasing supply or reducing demand), with each country’s share based on national consumption as part of the IEA total oil consumption.


  • Energy security and
  • Questions of energy policy co-operation among member countries.
  • Information “transparency”
  • Energy and the environment
  • Research and development and
  • International energy relations.


IEA Bioenergy established in 1978 by the International Energy Agency (IEA) with the aim of improving cooperation and information exchange between countries that have national programmes in bioenergy research, development and deployment.

The International Energy Agency acts as energy policy advisor to 29 Member Countries plus the European Commission, in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable, and clean energy for their citizens. The IEA’s initial role was to co-ordinate measures in times of oil supply emergencies. As energy markets have changed, so has the IEA. Current work focuses on climate change policies, market reform, energy technology collaboration and outreach to the rest of the world, especially major producers and consumers of energy like China, India, Russia and the OPEC countries.

Activities are set-up under Implementing Agreements. These are independent bodies operating in a framework provided by the IEA. There are 42 currently active Implementing Agreements, one of which is IEA Bioenergy. Twenty-two countries plus the European Commission participate in IEA Bioenergy.