International Law Commission (ILC) | IAS Target IAS Target

International Law Commission (ILC)

The International Law Commission (ILC) is a body of experts tasked with promoting the development and codification of international law. Established in 1947 by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), it is comprised of 34 individuals elected every five years by the UNGA for their "recognized competence and qualifications" in international law. The ILC holds annual sessions at the United Nations Office at Geneva to discuss various topics in international law and to develop or codify international legal principles accordingly.

Established 1947
Membership 34

Purpose of UNILC

  • Promoting the codification of international law.
  • Solving problems within both public and private international law.


The International Law Commission's work has led to the creation of a number of treaties and other works of international law that are key to the present international legal order for example:
  • The Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations
  • The Draft Articles on the Responsibility of States for Internationally Wrongful Acts
  • The Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties
  • The Vienna Convention on Succession of States in respect of Treaties
  • The International Criminal Court, first proposed in December 1948 at the request of the UN General Assembly.

India and UNILC

  • Recently Aniruddha Rajput, a young Indian lawyer, has been elected to the UN International Law Commission.
  • She bagged the highest number of votes in the Asia-Pacific group.
  • Aniruddha Rajput is among 34 individuals elected by the UN General Assembly as members of the International Law Commission that is tasked with the progressive development of international law and its codification.
  • The five-year term of the newly elected members commenced from January 2017.
  • The members to the Geneva-based body have been elected from five geographical groupings:
  • Africa,
  • Asia-Pacific,
  • Eastern Europe,
  • Latin America & Caribbean
  • Western Europe.