UN Specialized Agencies | IAS Target IAS Target

UN Specialized Agencies

Specialized agencies are sovereign organizations working with the United Nations. Specialized agencies may or may not have been originally created by the United Nations, but they are included in the United Nations System by the United Nations Economic and Social Council.

The specialized agencies are listed below:

  • International Monetary Fund (IMF).
  • International Telecommunication Union (ITU).
  • Universal Postal Union (UPU).
  • The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD),
  • The International Development Association (IDA),
  • The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).
  • Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).
  • International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).
  • International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).
  • International Labour Organization (ILO).
  • International Maritime Organization (IMO).
  • United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
  • United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO).
  • World Bank Group (WBG).
  • The International Finance Corporation (IFC),
  • The Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA),
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
  • World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

Former Specialized Agencies:

In 1952, International Refugee Organization was substituted by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees which is a subsidiary organ of the United Nations General Assembly.