World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) | IAS Target IAS Target

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is one of the fifteen specialized agencies of the United Nations (UN). India is a member of WIPO and party to several treaties managed by WIPO.


  • WIPO was set up in 1967 "to encourage creative activity, to promote the protection of intellectual property throughout the world".
  • WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation. It is a self-funding agency of the United Nations.

Members states WIPO currently has 192 member states, administers 26 international treaties
Headquartered Geneva, Switzerland
  • Global Innovation Index
  • World Intellectual Property Report

  • 188 of the UN member states as well as the Cook Islands, Holy See and Niue are members of WIPO
  • Non-members are the states of Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Solomon Islands, South Sudan and Timor-Leste.
  • Palestine has observer status.


Its mission is to lead the development of a balanced and effective international intellectual property (IP) system that enables innovation and creativity for the benefit of all. Its mandate, governing bodies and procedures are set out in the WIPO Convention, which established WIPO in 1967.


The predecessor to WIPO was the United International Bureaux for the Protection of Intellectual Property (Bureaux Internationaux Réunis pour la Protection de la Propriété Intellectuelle, with the French acronym for "BIRPI"), which had been set up in 1893 to administer the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works and the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property. WIPO was created by the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization, which came into force on April 26, 1970.